2019 Dominican Holidays



The Ministry of Labor has published the country’s official holidays calendar for 2019. The calendar establishes 12 holidays for the year. This year, only two holidays are moved – Labor Day and Constitution Day. The dates are important for vacation planners, as domestic demand peaks on the six long weekends that will happen in 2019.

The established holidays in 2019 are: Tuesday, 1 January: New Year’s Day Sunday, 6 January: Three Kings Day Monday, 21 January: Our Lady of Altagracia Day Saturday, 26 January: Duarte Day Wednesday, 27 February: Independence Day Friday, 19 April: Holy Friday Wednesday, 1 May: Labor Day. It will be moved to Monday, 29 April. Thursday, 20 June: Corpus Christi Day Friday, 16 August: Restoration Day Tuesday, 24 September: Our Lady of Mercedes Day Wednesday, 6 November: Constitution Day. It will be moved to Monday, 4 November. Wednesday, 25 December: Christmas Day

Long weekends, meaning peak times for hotel accommodations nationwide: The first week in January, rolled over from Monday, 31 December. The 31st of December is a big day for family gatherings and celebrations, so for many this will become a long weekend.

The third week in January, with the Our Lady of Altagracia long weekend. Many will take off from Friday 18, Saturday 19, Sunday 20 and return on Monday, 21 January.

Easter Week is the country’s leading holiday. The long weekend begins on Thursday all through Sunday, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22 April.

Restoration Day will result in a long weekend just before the restart of school days. The event is celebrated on Friday, 16 August, created the long weekend of 16, 17, 18 August.

Tuesday, 24 September is a religious holiday, celebrating the patron of the Dominican people, Our Lady of Mercedes. That means that while not a holiday, many people will make a long weekend of Friday 20, Saturday 21, Sunday 22, Monday 23 and Tuesday 24 September.

Constitution Day creates the long weekend in the first week of November, when it is moved to 4 November, creating the long weekend of Friday 1, Saturday 2, Sunday 3 and Monday 4 November.

Info from Dominican Ministry of Labor

http://mt.gob.do/index.php/noticias/...es-al-ano-2021

560 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All